Beatz & Lyrics Show

Strong Arm Steady – “Classic” (Prod. Statik Selektah)[Video]

Strong Arm Steady did damage on this joint “Classic” (produced by Statik Selektah)! “Sit in a circle, puff on some purple…” Hey, like the lyric says, it’s a classic session…and a nice track to boot. “Classic” is available on the SAS full-length release “Stereotype” which is available for download at iTunes now. We put the link here for you, because that’s what we do. You’re welcome.


“Stereotype” Track Listing:

01. Truth of the Truth
02. Premium
03. Forever
04. Born Into It
05. Do Ya Thang Girl (JOOK)
06. On My Job
07. L.A. Blues
08. Classic
09. Through the Motions
10. Married to the Game
11. Fair Fight
12. Back On Up
13. Outta Control
14. Smoke On

‘To introduce themselves to the world, the members of Los Angeles-based Strong Arm Steady — Xzibit, Krondon, Phil the Agony, and Mitchy Slick — didn’t stick to the usual technique of releasing an album. Instead, in 2004 they issued a DVD of clips from performances, recording sessions, and the band hanging out, although thanks to their mixtapes, they were already known in the L.A. area. In 2005 their debut, Arms & Hammers, was set to be released on Xzibit’s Columbia imprint, Open Bar, but when that fell through, Strong Arm Steady — minus Xzibit, who declined to give his reasons for leaving the group — signed to Talib Kweli’s newly formed Blacksmith Music. After a handful of singles on the label, the group would sign with underground imprint Stones Throw and hook up with in-house producer Madlib for the well-received “In Search of Stoney Jackson.” Their 2011 release, “Arms & Hammers,” was a more traditional hip-hop album with various producers and names like Too Short and the Game on the guest list. Flipping the script yet again, “Stereotype” from 2012 was considered a sequel to “Stoney Jackson,” with East Coast producer Statik Selektah taking the place of Madlib and producing the album in total.’ – iTunes

Leave a Reply